Entry Form

This is week five of my running training.  It’s going better than I thought it would.  It’s time to pre-register for the 5K which is four weeks from now.

I’ve had the on-line form open on my desktop for two days now.  I can’t bring myself to do it, but what am I afraid of?

I suspect I am having old phy ed emotional issues.  I don’t want anyone looking at me while I run (even though my daily route takes me alongside a state highway).  I don’t want to be passed by 10k runners.  I don’t want my high school classmates laughing at my goofy self-expressive running outfit (even though it’s been 25 years since I was in high school).  I don’t want to be defeated by the hill which starts the run.  I don’t want pitiful looks as I come panting my fat-mommy pant across the finish line.

What if I get stuck?

What if I get sick?

What if Jesus comes and I am out in the middle of a field instead of standing with my family?

What if I am beaten by a rogue gang of highway robbers?

What if I am the dead last one and everyone has gone home?

What if I am the dead last one and everyone has stood around waiting for me?

What’s that you say?  Just enter the stupid race because you’re going to be fine?

*sigh*

Okay.  But you better wait for me at the finish and pretend like I’m not dead last and you haven’t been standing there all day.

Leave a Reply

