Itchy Eye

I think I’m getting sick.

Maybe it’s just allergies.

But my eye is itchy — like I volunteered one too many days in the kindergarten classroom.  I have wiped everything down with a Clorox wipe.  

Fortunately I have some left over eye drops from last winter.  Yes, I know you’re not supposed to save that sort of thing or pass the bottle between family members, but . . . when you need medication for pink eye, you need it now.  I’m trying to think of a more annoying visit to the doctor than one for pink eye.  You know when you have pink eye.  Your eye is pink and itchy.  So you call the doctor, make an appointment and your insurance pays to hear the woman (or man) say, “Yes, you have pink eye.  Here is a prescription for the same eye drops that you had last winter and did not use all of.”

No, I kept the rest of the bottle just in case.

I do not want you to think I hoard old medications.  I have a small child in my home.  I did keep the rest of the drops.

. . . and the codeine cough syrup because when do you need that?  That’s right.  The middle of the night.  By the time you get up, make an appointment with the doctor and get to the office, you feel much better and it feels a little desperate to say, “No, really!! I was coughing up a lung!!  Couldn’t I have some just in case it comes back tonight???”  

Because you know it will.  Just like the pink eye.

Leave a Reply

