Thanks A Lot

Since I have started running several of you, dear reader-friends, have told me that you have been inspired to give it a try as well  Some have been more successful than others (although moving forward is a pace, Dorothy), and I celebrate you all.

Let me be perfectly clear.  Exercise sucks.  I have been through nearly every kind of exercise out there — high impact, low impact, walking, biking, indoor, outdoor, yoga, Pilates, step, etc. — and I have yet to find one where I get up in the morning and say, “Hooray!  What a great day to exercise!”  We have to do it.  The evidence is clear.  Exercise is good for our bodies and our minds.  It must be done, and it’s still better than scrubbing the toilet . . . or ironing . . . or cleaning that stuff from underneath the vegetable drawer.

So anyway, just as we were leaving that dinner party the other night I ran into a friend who said to me, “So, you and Brent are running together.”

“Well, sort of,” I said, and I started launching into my now well-worn story of how I didn’t think I could run a mile.

“Yeah,” she interrupted.  “My husband saw you and now he thinks we should run together.  I told him no.”

And that was pretty much the end of the conversation.  I didn’t get to mention the part where I yell at Brent nearly every time we are out together, but maybe that’s okay.

One thought on “Thanks A Lot

  1. LOL! Yes, at least I keep moving; jogging my 1/2 block! I’m counting my meandering in Walmart this morning as my exercise for the day!
    You really are more inspiring than that, by the way!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

