Muffins

Today was Muffins with Mom day at Colin’s school.  Colin and I had a muffin in the cafeteria and then went to math and social studies.

I remembered very quickly why graduation day was one of the happiest of my life.  High schools are loud, chaotic places.  Muffin time in the cafeteria alone was enough to make me want to call it a day.  Thank goodness Colin’s math teacher has a lovely, calm environment in which to work algebra problems with both fractions and decimals.

IMG_0048

Colin is writing out his math problem in words. Why?! How horrid!! (He did a great job.)

Social studies was a little more chaotic, but Colin handled it like a champ.  It was really good for me to be there.  I was able to see Colin acting . . . like the competent junior high kid he is.

Blog reader-friend Sue was teasing me that I want him to act like a “normal” teenager and then I am disgusted with him when he does.

She’s right, of course.  So even though all those school flashbacks were painful, I am grateful for the opportunity to see my teenager in his natural environment.  I am glad I was able to be there to cheer him on.

Leave a Reply

