The Fog Changes Everything

I had to take to my bed yesterday.  I’m pretty sure I have a sinus infection and the foggy, melting of snow temperatures made my head particularly uncomfortable.  I spent most of my awake time watching the Jodi Arias trial.  That girl has some troubles.  It’s hard to make stuff up as you go along with the prosecuting attorney hammering at you all day.  She’s doing a pretty good job sticking to her story.  The problem is her story has changed several times.  This is why we stick to the truth in the first place, kids.  It’s hard to keep track.

I was glad I was in bed when I heard of the death of my childhood friend and librarian Karen.  We have an old Carnegie library here in West Lake Woebegone and before it’s remodel, the children’s section was in the basement.  I spent a lot of time down there.  It was a cold and dark and lonely room.  I didn’t care.  I loved it.   It was full of books.

It was Karen who offered me Agatha Christie when I ran out of Trixie Belden.  I can see her behind the old counter — spiky hair and a tattoo before it was cool.  Karen was always cool.  She switched to the library in the next town, and I ran to her when I was doing story time and was at my wit’s end.  She came up with a solution.

Death in winter is unfair.  Someone has a bump or two too many and thinks he can walk home across the lake.  Someone is taking a perfectly innocent trip down the ski hill.  Someone’s car slides through the foggy intersection on the way to work or to school . . . And that’s that.

Life, of course, can be unfair in general, and that is why I am sticking to Jesus (and Karen did too).  Even though it looks like things are unfair on earth, someone is keeping track.  Someone will weigh things out.

In the meantime, I can rest assured knowing Karen was met with open arms and the biggest book collection ever.*

*This may not be strictly Biblically accurate.  So sue me.

2 thoughts on “The Fog Changes Everything

Leave a Reply

