I’ll Need a Minute

I’ll just need a minute.  Someone has posted a picture of a baby coming out of a Cesarean section which has made my newly healed stomach take a turn for a worse.   I know many women who would find that beautiful.  While giving birth to Colin, the nurse asked if I would like to see my “beautiful new baby” who had not quite made it all the way out. As politely as I could muster in that moment I said, “No, thank you.  I’ll wait.”

He was a beautiful new baby . . . once he was cleaned and dried.

This week Teenager Colin  makes his starring debut as an Oompa Loompa at our school’s production of “Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory.”  All the members of the junior high jazz choir are Oompa Loompas, so he was conscripted.  He’s not super excited, but he’s willing enough.  The final dress rehearsals were supposed to be at school today, but school was cancelled due to weather, so he’s off the hook for half his performances.

In waffle news, our dear reader-friend Sue sends us this picture from her hotel in Savannah, GA.

SN851395

 

Apparently, our Southern friends know enough to keep their fingers out of the waffle iron.   Good for you, South!  Good for you!  We are coming to visit.

Blog reader-friend Dorothy amiably suggested having our book club at a restaurant instead of our usual coffee shop, so that I could eat a waffle.  It was a tasty, tasty waffle.  I took a picture, but I can’t seem to get it to load, so you’ll just have to believe me.

Our book club is reading No Perfect People Allowed by John Burke.  It’s my second time through.  I highly recommend it.  Our group gets a little chatty, however.  I don’t remember, actually, what chapter we’re on.

If all goes well, I will not write to you next week because I will be burning my little nose on the beaches of Florida’s Gulf Coast.  Don’t bother to steal the TV.  Grandma will be here.

Leave a Reply

