Cup of Caterpillars

One day we were conversing with D when the subject of caterpillars came up.  I don’t remember the exact conversation, but D said he’d never seen a chrysalis.  I thought to myself, “I’ll bet you can buy such a thing on the internet.”  By golly, one quick trip to Amazon and we are now the proud owners of Caterpillars in a Cup.

IMG_0299

Watching caterpillars grow is not as exciting as you might think.  Mostly they eat, poop, sleep and shed their exoskeletons.  Towards the end of the week we are expecting them to climb to the top of the cup for the big chrysalis show.  I am hoping we will be able to see them.  In addition to eating and sleeping they are letting out a lot of silk thread which is clouding the view.  If I were crafty I would harvest it and make something, but as we all know I am not.

10k Notebook:  Thanks to Grandpa Larry for picking me up when I got stranded by storm damage last week.  If you want to see Grandpa Larry in his WWII days head on over the Minnesota Historical Center.

Leave a Reply

