First Lines

Reader-friend Cousin Josh is anxious for me to start writing a novel based on the characters I know in real life.  Since the we are waiting for our chrysalis friends to harden so they can be moved to the butterfly house, now may be as good a time as any to start.  I’m pretty sure it’s all in the first line.

There’s classic lines such as, “It was a dark and stormy night,” or “It was the best of times; it was the worst of times.”

It was another rainy day in Central Minnesota.

Meh.

How about something provocative like Toni Morrison.  “They shoot the white girl first.”

Jenny’s idea for the tattoo came from Grandma’s coffee pot.

Better.

They named the dog Fritz Tatanka after her great-uncle and the Lakota work for . . .

Oh, now we’re stuck because I would probably say bison, but Josh prefers buffalo.  Since I’m pretty sure it doesn’t really matter to me, but it does to him, let’s go with buffalo.

They named the dog Fritz Tatanka after her great-uncle and the Lakota word for buffalo.

or

She kicked him out of the club just because she was jealous.  The club was too lazy to meet anyway.

or

The mother wanted the children to see their summer to-do lists as fun, but they started to use the word “list” like a four letter word . . . which it is.

Maybe something running related in the spirit of “Call me Ishmael.”

I started to cry at mile four.

No, no!  Positive attitude!  Run happy!

Let’s keep brainstorming.

10K Notebook:  Yesterday’s run was brutal with a capital BRU-TAL.  I was hot.  I hurt.  I walked.  Even my Pavlovian music mix didn’t help.  It was discouraging.  I took two Advil and thought about going back to bed.  I am taking today off.  Yes, I know Olympian Camelita Jeter doesn’t take the day off, but I doubt she had to make a trip to Sam’s Club yesterday for a case of toilet paper and a gross of breakfast cereal.  We all have our burdens to bear.

5 thoughts on “First Lines

  1. Maybe the cereal had too much bran, thus requiring so much toilet paper–just a thought….I’m trying to help you lessen your trips to Sam’s Club.

  2. “Her Uncle John called her ‘Asil’. Others called her ‘Mary’. But when she thought of herself, which she really too seldom did, she was ‘Lisa’.”

    “Grandma died in the summer. And of course she would have. She would not have wanted to impose on the cemetery to accommodate her when the Minnesota ground was frozen and the the mourners would have needed coats.”

    “She used to sit at the top of the basement steps when the tornado sirens sounded. It was dank down there and the tornado might not even approach. Why commit until you knew it was necessary.”

    • Those are so good. Why am I writing this novel? I would change number two (which is my favorite) to say “Grandma died the day after school let out . . .”

  3. You two are too good. Get at it. Support me in the style to which I’d like to beecome accustomed. BTW, you made me cry. Which is a good thing.

Leave a Reply

