Recovery Continues

Recovery is a slow process here.  I don’t know if it was after my triumphant jump when I fell to the ground, but somewhere along the way I wrenched my back.  The pain of that has been greater than anything in my foot.  I spent much of last week with my back on a heating pad and my foot on a pillow.

So gimpy.

On  positive note as we prepare for our summer road trip to the Land of Lincoln, I was able to watch half of Ken Burns documentary The Civil War.  I even picked up Team of Rivals again, and I am sort of hopeful I will finish that too.

The Civil War has never interested me much.  Why do you think that is?  It’s probably not fair, but I suspect it was having to learn (and then promptly forget) all those battles in 8th grade or whenever.  It’s hard to keep them all straight — what with the North calling them something different than the South.

Favorite stepson Jeremy went through a Civil War phase and we planned one summer road trip with Gettysburg as stopping point.  I can still see Jeremy out there with his binoculars spotting where every general had moved.   I had just had Colin and was filled with new mother emotions.  It was sunny and hot, just as it had been on the days of the battle.  One hundred and some years later the whole place seemed filled with sadness and tragedy.    After learning of the heavy loses of the First Minnesota Infantry, I tried not to imagine what it would be like to learn that my hungry, hot and poorly shod child had died in this place so far from home.  I tried not to imagine being a Gettysburg housewife doing my best to deal with the hundreds of bodies decomposing in the field next door.  In the Ken Burns film I learned that the women dragged the dying men from both sides into their homes to try and care for them.  Carpets were ruined with blood along with books they used for pillows and much more, I am sure.  How could you ever be the same with war, literally, in your back yard.

Maybe that’s why I have had a hard time being interested.  Ignorance is bliss.  It’s hard to fathom that our country reached a place where we stopped debating and started shooting.

But maybe that’s why we should all be interested in the Civil War.  It is possible to reach that place, and I, for one, don’t want to see us go there again.

Leave a Reply

